When was marijuana legalized in Nevada?
Las Vegas is renowned for its open policies on a wide range of issues. That’s because Vegas saw its initial growth in the 1930’s, when the Hoover Dam was being constructed. Gambling was legalized in 1931 and Las Vegas has grown into a mecca for gaming and entertainment in the years since.
Nevada legalized medicinal cannabis on November 7th, 2000. It would take another 15 years until the very first medical marijuana dispensary opened its doors, though. Full legalization of cannabis for ages 21 and up was passed on November 8th, 2016 thanks to the Nevada Marijuana Legalization Initiative, or Question 2.
Is it legal to possess marijuana in Vegas?
If you are 21 years of age or older, it is completely legal to possess up to an Ounce of marijuana for personal use in Las Vegas.
Up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrates or hash on a single person also is penalty free.
There are no penalties for possession of paraphernalia by people 21 years of age or older.
Anyone with a valid medical marijuana card who is at least 18 years of age can also legally purchase marijuana in Nevada.
Where can you smoke marijuana in Las Vegas?
You can only legally consume cannabis on private property.
What does that mean for you?
At the federal level, cannabis is still classified as an illegal, schedule 1 substance.
In Las Vegas it is illegal to smoke or consume marijuana in public, in a vehicle, or on any federal land. You may be at risk of a fine or potential jail-time if you are stopped by a federal officer of any capacity including federal park rangers.
Can I smoke marijuana in my hotel room?
Can I consume cannabis in a casino?
Because cannabis consumption still isn’t completely legal at the state or federal level, casinos risk losing their gambling license if they were to openly allow patrons to consume marijuana on their premises. Gambling is regulated at the state level, so this hardline stance may soften significantly if cannabis is also made legal without consumption stipulations by Nevada State legislation.
What are the state penalties if you are stopped by law enforcement?
While violating Nevada State marijuana consumption laws is categorized as a misdemeanor, it still can result in up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and/or community service.
Is it legal to drive while under the influence of cannabis?
No. You may face fines, jail time, or community service. Cannabis may be transported in a vehicle within the state of Nevada as long as it is in an air-tight container than is not within reach or accessible by anyone in the vehicle. It is advisable to transport any cannabis products in the trunk of your vehicle.
Taking cannabis products across state lines remains illegal, and would result in a felony conviction if you were arrested for it. We do not advise transportation of any cannabis products across state lines for any reason.
What is the legal cannabis limit in Las Vegas?
There are two definitions for driving under the influence of marijuana in Nevada.
- the substance has impaired the driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely, OR
- the driver’s blood contains 2 nanograms per ml. of marijuana (delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol) or 5 nanograms per ml. of marijuana metabolite (11-OH-tetrahydrocannabinol).
What the law fails to mention is how a nanogram per ml compares to an actual cannabis dose. Because the amount of THC you consume from smoking flower depends on a lot of factors, we’re going to look at a cartridge for our example.
2 nanograms per milliliter is equal to .002 milligrams a liter. The average human body contains roughly 5 liters of blood. How much THC would you need in your system to fail a blood test? Just .010 milligrams.
One puff from a cartridge tested at 25% THC would put your immediate blood level at 0.13mg of THC per liter, well over the .002mg per liter set by Nevada law. Marijuana metabolite can remain in your system much longer making it nearly impossible to pass a blood test for marijuana if you’ve had any within a month.
What’s your best option? Don’t drive. There are plenty of other ways to get around Las Vegas, and you can even take a hop on/hop off dispensary tour if you want to see everything cannabis-related the city has to offer.
How can I apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Vegas?
- Fill out your registry request and mail it to the Division of Public and Behavioral Health along with a $25 money order or check made payable to the same.
- You’ll need approval from a Physician that is licensed in Nevada. You can find local physicians in your area by visiting the Nevada Department of Health site.
Can I apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Las Vegas if I am not from Nevada?
You can! There are some strict qualifications, though, and you must meet all of them. In order to receive a medical marijuana card in Nevada if you are an out of state resident, you must:
- Possess a current, valid MM card from your home state.
- Your home state must exempt cardholders from medical marijuana use-related prosecution: for example, a Washington State card holder.
- Your home state must require approval from a physician before a MM card may be issued.
- Your home state must maintain an up-to-date MM card database that Nevada state authorities can access in order to verify your home state’s medical marijuana card validity.
Can I give marijuana to a friend?
You can legally gift as much as ½ oz of concentrates or a full ounce of flower to a friend, but your friend cannot legally pay you back for it.
If you accept a payment for any marijuana product, it becomes a sales transaction. Outside of a dispensary, that transaction is still illegal.
Can my employer drug test me for smoking marijuana in Las Vegas?
What does a minor in Vegas need to know about cannabis?
What are the penalties for violating age-related cannabis laws in NV?
- Falsely representing oneself as 21+ and attempting to purchase marijuana is a misdemeanor charge.
- Minors loitering or entering a cannabis store may receive up to a $500 fine.
What’s the safest way to store your marijuana?
Make your cannabis purchase kid-proof.
Keep all of your marijuana products in your hotel-room safe. This is one of the smartest ways to store your cannabis. Set the code at random (as long as you can remember it) and you can rest easy knowing that no one other than yourself will have access to it.
Keep your cannabis products in child-resistant packaging. There is a range of tamper-proof containers and bags that are very difficult for young children to open. If you don’t have a room-safe, keep your containers in a high, out of the way place.
Only buy what you will consume. Another option is to only buy what you are going to consume that day. Keep all cannabis products on your person and you can avoid having anything left out that a child or teenager could get into.
The Nevada Government has a great informational resource for parents. Determining when to and how to talk to a child about drugs and alcohol can be difficult. The roadmap they’ve provided can make these conversations a little bit easier.